Beginner Equipment Advice

buzzsaw228

• Members

Hey, I'm just getting into the world of DJ'ing and I am at a loss on the best place to start.

The first thing on my list is the equipment and I'm not sure the best stuff to get while just starting. Nothing top of the line, just a full set up to learn the ropes on.

Any input is greatly appreciated!

• Members

More information required...

What music format do you want to use- Vinyl, CD, PC?

What type of music do you want to play? (Certain types of music lend themselves to certain mixing styles, which certain types of equipment are better for than others)

How much money can you spend? There is a big gap between top of the line and something just good enough to learn on.

• Members

Okay, so you've got some cash to work with. That's good. My philosophy on dj equipment for the beginner (or really anybody) is to buy the highest possible quality equipment you can afford, with used gear being an excellent way to get better stuff for around the same price as lesser new gear.

I would look for two tabletop cd players from either Denon or Pioneer. Compare the different features of each model you see and make sure you're not paying for anything you don't need. For instance, some high end decks can simulate scratching very realistically, but if you don't plan on doing any scratching you don't need to pay extra for the ability to do it. There are a ton of things that DJ cd decks will do that a normal one will not so that could be a little bit overwhelming to grasp at first, but spending some time on the manufacturer's web site should help clear up what they all do.