SL 1210 M5G vs. SL 1200 Mk. II

Rob G

• 2 weeks later...
  • Members

SL 1210 M5G vs. SL 1200 Mk. II:

You thoughts. Plus's, or minus's for either of them. Also if you were freelancing at at a club which would you rather see in the DJ booth when you show up for work?

Rob G..

I have the 1200 MkII's at home and they are wonderful. They are the industry standard.

What the M5G's offer you is the ability to change the pitch range from +/- 8% to +/- 16%, which gives you more range on the pitch fader for doing beatmatching and things of the like. Also, the 1200 MKII's have a "notch" at 0% in the pitch control which can get kind of annoying when you trying to mix a track that needs adjustment around there on the pitch fader.

However, I don't think I've seen too many M5G's on any DJ's rider that comes into town. The vast majority are fine with the MKII's.

• Members

I've been scratching and mixing for over 10 years and I'd go with the M5Gs. I recently bought a pair and they're just better than the old school 1200s. The +/-16% pitch is key. Plus, they really aren't that much more expensive once you start to wheel and deal. I got mine for $510 each.

• Members

bangpow,

So as far as your perspective reaches it's the SL1200 Mk II's. Thanks for your input.

Rob G..

I'm saying you can't really go wrong with either one, but you can save a few bucks and stick with the MKII's.

Sure, the M5G's have +/- 16%, but have you ever heard a track at +/- 16%. The vocals either sound like Barry White or the chipmunks. Also keep in mind that the pitch fader is the same lenght, so every little move on the pitch fader is going to exaggerated when you have the pitch at +/- 16%.

• Members

I'm saying you can't really go wrong with either one, but you can save a few bucks and stick with the MKII's.