GREENBACKS AND G12K100'S - Just heard my Peters Gryphon through these speakers...

firejack018

• Members

Holy shnizzle! Clips coming soon. :thu:

Just spent the afternoon at Cron's place (fellow HCAF forumite) playing around with our amps through his speaker cabs. He had 2 Mesa 4x12's with V30's, a Marshall 4x12 with Greenbacks and a Marshall 4x12 with G12K100's.

All the cabs sounded great, but the best cab for my tastes was the Greenback cab.

Sounded just about perfect to me for cleans and high-gain.

The next best IMO was the G12K100 cab.

I've never tried these speakers before, and I have to say I was mighty impressed by what I was hearing.

This was Cron's favorite cab with my Gryphon.

I had my Zoom H4n recorder with me, and we managed to record over an hours worth of audio.

As soon as I get some time to sift through the clips, I'll post them up.

:)

• Members

Told you so. :poke:

I love my Orange cab with Greenbacks. Something about driving these speakers nice and hard makes me {censored}ing wet. They just ooze tone with such a delicious mid-range. The raw, uncompressed Chimera opens these speakers like 17 year old legs around Curtis.

I've recently acquired a Marshall with G12t-75s and I actually like it mixed with V30s as well.

• Members

The Celestion G12K-100 is a Celestion G12T-75 bumped up by 25W. Check the specs. Subtle differences - the magnet is slightly larger (DUH extra output) and the physical depth is slightly deeper.

No. The G12T100 (Hot100) is the 100W version of the T75. A K100 sounds nothing like a T75.

• Members

Fellow greenback lover here. :wave:

They are perfect for me as well, very pleasing speakers to play on. Thick and soft with all the right touches from clean to mid gain all the way up to aggressive metal, but the lower the tuning the more the thick sponginess can start to turn to mud with high gain if you aren't careful.

• Members