Difference between "volume" & "master"? don't laugh

saneff

• Members

I am new to electric guitar and just got my first amp for electric - Fender Mustang I. I know this is really stupid, but what is the difference between volume and master? When woudl you use one vs the other?

Also, my Les Paul has volume controls. Is there any reason to use volume on the amp or guitar over the other in certain situations?

• Members

normally the Volume is to control the volume of that channel only and the Master controls the overall loudness of the amp. If your amp has multiple channels you should use the channel volume to ensure all channels are at the same level, then use the Master to turn the whole amp up or down.

I just don't understand that at all. Channels? What do you mean by channels? It is a Mustang I. I am sorry, I just don't follow you. Sorry to be such a newbie idiot.

• Members

Your amp is unique, it doesnt actually have channels persay, just one. One volume knob? One channel. Therefore you have a one channel amp.

You have a modeller though so it's kind of cheating. See your preset knob? That will set it to a myriad of different amp sounds by simulating them, multiple channels are not needed or used in a modeller because it's only one at a time for the amps simulations.

Basically, select your preset, now you have an amp selected. At this point the volume will control the loudness of that particular amp being simulated, whereas the master volume will control how much volume the speaker itself is going to put out.

This can be particularly useful if for example you like to switch between clean and distorted tones, since theres more preamp drive in a distorted channel than in a clean channel, naturally you're going to have more volume difference between the two. Increasing the volume on the clean setting and decreasing the volume on the distorted setting can even them out, then use the master to bring up both volumes to a desirable level