Marshall JVM 410h problem!

krish

• Members

Hey guys,

I was wondering if there was anyone here that could offer some light on this issue.

Basically, I have a Marshall JVM410h head that has functioned flawlessly for about 3 years now. Suddenly during a rehearsal, the volume cut to about half of what it should be, and now even at max volume it barely keeps up with our drummer.

At first I thought the power tubes were getting worn out, so I changed them and biased the amp, unfortunately this didn't fix things. I changed all the preamp tubes, still no difference.

I've tried with different guitars, different cabs, different speaker/guitar cables and tried pedals vs no pedals, all to no avail.

I note however that if I stick a boost pedal in the fx loop, the volume increases LOADS more than it used to, which suggests to me that it could be a problem with the preamp section but I'm no expert.

Has anyone experienced anything like this before? any idea on what could be going on here?

Thanks loads in advance!

• Members

I'll give that a go but I'm not so sure that's the problem here. I can disengage the loop completely on this amp.

If I disengage the loop the volume goes up a tiny little bit, but this was always the case before. It still doesn't go up to anywhere near the same volume it was capable of before.

• Members

Hey guys,

I was wondering if there was anyone here that could offer some light on this issue.

Basically, I have a Marshall JVM410h head that has functioned flawlessly for about 3 years now. Suddenly during a rehearsal, the volume cut to about half of what it should be, and now even at max volume it barely keeps up with our drummer.

At first I thought the power tubes were getting worn out, so I changed them and biased the amp, unfortunately this didn't fix things. I changed all the preamp tubes, still no difference.

I've tried with different guitars, different cabs, different speaker/guitar cables and tried pedals vs no pedals, all to no avail.