Nylon Strings on a typical steel-string dreadnaught

goodluckinjail

• Members

1) You will need to widen the treble (E, B and G string) nut slots a little to accomodate the thicker nylon trebles (the bases are very similar widths to steel strings). Use a small piece of folded, fine grade emery cloth and take it slowly - file a bit, test how the string fits, etc.

2) You will probably need to slacken off the trussrod by about 1/4 turn anticlockwise to get the correct neck relief to allow for the lower tension of the nylon strings but fit the strings first and see how it plays - then if the neck needs adjusting just slacken off the D and G strings to get at the trussrod socket.

3) If the guitar has bridge pins (rather than a pinless, tie-on bridge) you will need to use ball-end nylon strings (or tie some knots at the end of the strings)

I have one of my dreadnoughts fitted with nylon strings and it's probably my most-played guitar. Good luck.

• Members

I am not an expert, but, if the action is low on the guitar, you may need to raise it for the nylon strings. Nylon strings come to pitch under less tension so they are easier to play, but that also means that they vibrate with more amplitude when plucked/picked/strummed. So if you do the conversion and you get string buzz on the frets, be prepared to raise the action by either replacing the nut and saddle, or by shimming.

• Members

Sure you can do it, but it's gonna be pretty quiet in comparison to having steel strings on it too. Have you considered putting a set of "silk and steel" strings on it?

http://www.jpstrings.com/brstring.htm#Silks

I'm after the nylon sound, see. It seems these 'silk and steel' strings would match the comfort of nylon strings while maintaining the steel string sound :cry:

• Members