Car wax on guitar?

naboutboul

• Members

Is it okay to use car wax to shine up my guitar? I figured it'd be safe on the urethane lacquer. I'm just wondering if I can do it, and if so what parts of the guitar. Should I avoid the back of the neck or the fretboard? Sorry for the lame questions, I'm new to all this.

• Members

No, don't use any wax.

Waxless car polish and elbow grease are the answer.

Meguiar's Scratch X followed by Meguiar's Deep Crystal System Polish step 2.

Those have worked for me in the past.

Avoid the fretboard and bridge.

I assume this is because you want to polish your finish to a semi-gloss?

• Members

Many have done this to their satin-finished guitars and from what I understand there's more to the process than just shining the existing finish. Don't ask me why, but here's a couple of links with pics that spells out just one of many different processes:

http://www.tomyoungguitar.com/OrsinoizingPage.html

http://www.larriveeforum.com/smf/index.php?topic=12830.0

• Members

No, don't use any wax.

Waxless car polish and elbow grease are the answer.

Meguiar's Scratch X followed by Meguiar's Deep Crystal System Polish step 2.

Those have worked for me in the past.

Avoid the fretboard and bridge.

I assume this is because you want to polish your finish to a semi-gloss?

Listen to this man. I've heard bad things about wax that contains silicates. I can't remember what exactly but I'd prefer to err on the side of caution.

• Members

What happens with silicone is, it possibly affects the glue, does affect the finish and will certainly make it more difficult for the glue or new finish to adhere later on if you need repairs.

I've also heard that it can affect some materials used for bindings, purfling and inlays. That may or may not be true but the problem with silicone polishes affecting the ease of refinish or re-gluing is.