Guitar Question

blue rondo

• Members

I'm a novice regarding guitars. I picked up a vintage Cortez J-6500 guitar at a local yard sale over the weekend. The previous owner said he purchased the guitar in the early 1970's when he was a college student and rarely played it. The guitar is in excellent condition except for one thing - it looks as though the stress of having strings attached for all of those years has caused the body area behind the bridge to raise up, as the bridge itself has lifted slightly at the rear corners and tilted forward. I assume this isn't by design, but rather a stress related issue. The guitar still plays well and sounds good to me. Is there anything that can be done to return the body to its original shape without a major overhaul? There are no guitar builders/repair people in this area that I know of.

Any suggestions?

7361a.jpg.

• Members

I believe that you'd going to have to send it to a proper repair man, probably your local music store. But of course, a picture speaks a thousand words, so put up some pics and the more experienced members can give you a better advise.

• Members

First, congratulations. Cortez guitars are now known as "Cort." They're the second largest maker of guitars in the world after Samick.

Second, the condition you describe is called "belly bulge" and it happens largely for the reasons you guessed. However, dryness is also a contributing factor. Go to The Annex, click on "Tech Stuff" and then on "Is My Guitar Sick" for more information. Get the guitar humidified and then you'll be able to see how bad the problem truly is. (But no, it won't go away--sorry.) At that point, you'll have three choices:

Live with it assuming the bridge tilt isn't so severe that you have no "break angle" (the angle the strings make when they bend over the saddle--ideally 45 degrees) left.