TommyT5

• Members

I've been playing for about 30 years now but have the all-laminate guitar I started on as well as the all-laminate guitar that I received as a gift so I could have something to play in college. It actually wasn't until 3 years ago that I got my first all-solid wood guitar. I'd done my homework before taking the plunge though, so that guitar is in good shape and I plan to keep it for at least 20 years or however long I last.

That being said, it has a polyester satin finish and my beaters are approaching the end of their lifespans and I'm hoping to move up to an all-solid wood guitar with a gloss nitro finish.

• Members

I've got one of each. An all laminated Fender F-65 that I've had for almost 30 years that doesn't act like it's ever going to die, and a new, recently purchased Alvarez MD80 that's all solid woods. To tell you the truth, I doubt that the Alvarez will last as long as the all laminated Fender has. The Fender still looks like new. I'll also say this.....I don't notice a whole helluva lot of difference, if any, in sound and playablity. I'm not sorry I bought the Alvarez though.....got a great deal on it. I love both of my guitars and play 'em to death. I go to a bluegrass jam every Saturday and I go back and forth between the Fender and the Alvarez. Either one does the job for me.

• Members

All laminate Yamaha F310 here for now...I had to sell my Taylor due to financial reasons...:cry:

When I am financially stable again I plan on buying another Yamaha all laminate electric/acoustic FX370 (in Tobacco sunburst). I tried one out and I really liked it and feel it would be perfect for live shows or open mics. :thu:

I'll keep the F310 for busking or taking to the park or whatever.

• Members