Need to raise nut height. Advice needed.

Abando

• Members

I would like to know as many options as possible. I know this question has been asked more than a few times. Hell, I'm getting so lazy that I don't even bookmark things anymore. I like the spacing just fine. Bought the guitar quite a long time ago. Been putting this off for way too long. Asked the seller to make sure the strings weren't too high & he went crazy sanding down each string space to the point where there's fret buzz on a few frets. It's not the neck, saddle, etc. I know for sure what the problem is. Please list all the ways I can increase the string height at the nut without replacing the nut itself. I don't want to make it more complicated than it needs to be. Please be as specific as possible in terms of what products to buy & where I can get them at.......if possible. Recommendations on what I should avoid doing will be just as helpful. Thanks.

Abando

• Members

I'm not an expert, but I'm pretty sure that buying a new nut will be your only recourse in this scenario. Typically, you can solve action problems by adjusting the truss rod and/or the bridge, but since you're sure neither of those is the cause of the problem, it probably wouldn't be wise to mess around with them. If it's not broken, don't fix it, that sort of thing :blah:.

You could put a shim or two under the saddle, which would raise the action a little bit. The other nice thing about shimming the saddle is that it isn't permanent. If you put the shims in and you decide you don't want them anymore, you can just take them out---simple as that.

• Members

Ok, I've heard of two methods: one ghetto, one requires a little more finese.

The quick and sloppy method is to jam a piece of matchbook cover or teflon tape under the string in the nut slot. Theoretically this raises the string a mm or so.