What strings for a Seagull S6??

pawsable

• Members

Hi all,

I've been lurking around awhile since a co-worker of my DH told me about the sight. I'm learning alot and also getting lots of gas.

I have a Newbie question.

I think I need new strings. I've been playing my Seagull for about 5 months and it just doesn't sound a good as it used to. Plus I have to tweak the tuning more often.

I don't know what strings are on it (probably whatever it came with from the factory). I have read many of the string threads and listened to the comparisons available.

I would like something similar to what the seagull came with but there are too many varibles out there for me to make a choice without some advice, please.

pawsable

• Members

A string change is indeed in order for you. Five months is a very long time to go between string changes. You're going to flip over the improvement in your git's tone once you get some new ones on.

For mid-priced strings, I tend to recommend D'Addario Phosphor Bronze, light gauge. Nice, warm-sounding strings, good sustain on the basses and clear trebles.

Martin phos bronze lights are a tad more expensive and also produce nice tones, but for me, they didn't last quite as long as the D'Addario ones.

I've used the D'Addario 12-string set and get quite a bit of playing hours out of them. I play my 12-er every single day and change strings about every 3-4 weeks.

If frequent string changes aren't your thing, check out Elixir Nanos. They have quite a following here. I personally don't care for coated strings, but to each his/her own.

• Members

My Simon & Patrick (same Godin family) came with Godin A6 LT (P/B light) strings from the factory. Your Seagull most likely had the same.

The Godins look and spec the same as D'Addario EJ16 (P/B light) gauge: 53-42-32-24-16-12. I think Godin just re-labels them.

I like the EJ16's or EJ26 Custom Lights - 52-42-32-22-15-11.

• Members

Thank you both for your response.