Can someone explain how to use an outboard reverb for me?

• Members

I'm still learning the ropes here!!

Right now I have a Behringer virtualizer pro (or modulizer pro...can't remember as it's been in the closet).

I haven't fully decided if I'm going to go hardware or software with the verbs. I thought I'd experiment a bit with each.

So I have this behringer lying around but I don't know how to use it.

So here's the basic elements of my setup:

I've got a PC running Cubase SL

MOTU 2408 w/PCI card.

Ramsa 12 channel console

The MOTU has 8 channels going to the Ramsa and 8 channels coming back from the ramsa.

Now if I wanted to use the hardware reverb to track, I know how to do that, it would be the same as running one through a mixer at a live show.

the problem is that I don't want to add the reverb until after the track is made.

So I'm guessing I'm going to have to record the track onto cubase, send it back into the board and add the fx at that point to my liking and then record it again like that.

Except I don't know how to do any of that. :(

Where's correct - post fader aux sends are the key here. You can do it exactly as he described - using the board, or you can do it inside of Cubase, using your audio interface.

Assign an output or two on the MOTU to aux sends in Cubase... IOW, Cubase will then send the aux send signal OUT OF the MOTU. Plug that into your effects unit. Then take the two outputs of the effects unit and patch them into two of the inputs on the MOTU. As Where said, make sure you have the wet / dry mix on the effects processor set to 100% wet. Now set up a stereo aux return in Cubase, and assign the input for that to the two hardware channels on the MOTU that you just connected the effects processor's outputs to. Raise the aux return fader, and then raise the aux send levels on the individual channel(s) / track(s) in Cubase that you want to apply reverb to.

• Members

Sounds

1) Very confusing :D (I'm still learning :( )