How many of you have a iPod or similar device...

• Members

I use it in the car, excersizing, airplane and for data storage/transfers.

I went to the extent of modifying the car cigarete adapter so that it is wired directly into the car stereo system. I bought Shure E3's for the airplane/traveling which was HUGE.

Using it for data tranfers has been more than useful...between mac/pc, software updates, sessions, plug-in settings, etc.

I'm just getting into podcasting and haven't used the ipod for that yet. I'm listening to podcasts on the ibook while I'm surfin the web as I am while posting this.

I love it. Definetly has been a useful device.

• Members

I have a gen 3 40gb. I'm in the process of getting my entire CD collection into a (separate USB buss powered) HDD. I use the itunes playlist feature to keep what I need/want for any potential show in there for preshow, along with a good selection of my current favs for listening. I have a dock for the car as well. I use isync to keep my address book and calendar up to date, make notes for certain artists live shows, it's a fabulous device, far from just a trendy fad IMHO. It is very functional and performs many things for me in a small and convenient package.

Once the CD collection is converter into the HDD( AAC@192, which unless you're critical studio listening, I defy anyone to tell the difference) I'll take my very large pile of CD's to the used CD store, pay for the ipod and all the accessories, and have a nice wad of cash left over (my collection numbers in the several hundred, the local used CD store, who knows me well, has told me they'd pay between $2-3 disc.)

I doubt I will ever buy a CD again.

• Members

Originally posted by where02190

I'll take my very large pile of CD's to the used CD store