got the brick!

pix

• Members

yo mamma!

this guy really sings. Notice that this is my very first pre amp/DI so this may sound like a guy praising a yugo because he used to ride a donkey but nevertheless I just rediscovered my guitar and bass. They sound huge and present on this thinjg like never before.

Big ups for groove tubes!

• Members

bass is a washurn XB100 (cheapo GC deal) and guitars are a MIM telecaster and blackout HH telecaster. It really makes the single coils sing and it's amazing with humbuckers solos. I really like how thick and present the sound is. Not harsh at all. Plain big.

this was just DI so far. I'll do some mic tests over the weekend.

• Members

Originally posted by Phil O'Keefe

You got two of 'em Kylen? What have you tried them on?

Yes I just picked up another Brick at Guitar Center. I'm doing something a little different than you guys right now, not recording right now in terms of studio and bands. I'm transcribing and rebalancing (I'm not a pro so I don't want to mislead by using the term remastering which is used in the commercial world) my catalog of live and studio recordings and tape masters in the digital domain. So in my humble project studio I run the tape decks into these 2 GT Bricks for a little tube and transformer assistance. I'm trying now to judge what improvment in quality these make if any - they sound nice, I'll say that. I'm about to do a re-amp (per Steve Hoffman remastering engineer technique) thru them and push into them a little harder to see what natural eq and dynamics properties they have, if any. A little long-winded but that's what I'm up to right now! I've been bitten by the remastering bug!!!

• Members

Originally posted by Phil O'Keefe

I'm about to do a re-amp (per Steve Hoffman remastering engineer technique)

Link please?
:)