A technical discussion on the mp3 format (not the illegal download debate)

• Members

So can anyone tell me how I can explain this to a bunch of Sound Design students of mine in layman's terms?

To start with my proposed lecture I'll tell them: we commonly use PCM WAV as our recording format. Hence we can explain how a digital waveform is formed. So a CD has 44.1Khz Sampling rate, and a bit resolution of 16-bit. So that means the digital signal is actually composed of samples that are discrete. And in effect you have 44,100 samples in one second... now as far as bit-depth is concerned, that means a digital sample can be represented in 2^16 different positions (or volume levels), from -32768 to 0 to 32768.

I did lecture on amplitude, wavelength, and all those other physics stuff before.

But now, they want me to explain the mp3 format.

I am no computer programmer, but the way I understand it, mp3s have two basic parameters: bitrate and sampling frequency. Why does mp3 sound very close to CD quality despite its small size? I understand that the idea of mp3 is getting a collection of all digital samples, and picking up the samples that represent the loudest frequency among the co-existing frequencies in a particular time? I checked out www.howstuffworks.com but I still find it inadequate. I too still have a problem comprehending.

mp3-waves.gif

Can anyone help?

• Members

I'm not sure exactly how it works, but my understanding is similar to the pic you posted. Think of it kinda as a frequency gate. If there is a bunch of activity (volume) around 1K, the highs and lows are attenuated. Part of the loss is hidden by the masking of the louder frequecy response of the mids, but as you compress more and more you will begin to hear bits drop as more of the masked frequencies are attenuated.

• Members

From articles I've read in the past, my understanding is that the mp3 encoding performs 2 main operations:

1-It will compress data