What does latency sound like? Because I think I may have it.

• Members

Weird artifacty echo sounds.

Not put there on purpose.

Is that latency? Can I fix it? Do I need more gear or more talent? I can't afford either one. :D

I'll be glad to send anyone a link through PM so you can hear it but I don't really want to post it because you guys know what you're doing and I'm a beginner and so I'd be a bit intimidated having all of you listen to my mix right now.

Are you hearing these "artifacts" while tracking, or while playing the recording back? If you're hearing it while tracking, it's probably latency. As Where said, it's a delay that is caused by the processing time it takes for the signal to get into the A/D converters, be recorded and processed by your computer and then sent back out to the outputs. This is usually adjustable via a buffer setting in your sound card drivers or recording software - lower buffer settings will result in less latency, but places a greater demand on your computer system. Higher buffer settings make less demands on your system, but result in higher latency and delays. In general, you want to use the lowest possible buffer settings when tracking (so the delays are inaudible and don't throw off your timing and feel), and the highest buffer settings when mixing, so that your CPU power is available for the maximum amount of plug ins.

Some audio interfaces also offer "low latency monitoring". Usually this is a hardware mixer built into the audio interface that routes a "copy" of the audio directly out of the soundcard for monitoring purposes before it makes that "round trip" through your computer system, thereby allowing you to monitor the stuff you're tracking sans latency.

• Members

Yeah, it's on playback. No trouble tracking.

Given what you said I don't think it's a latency issue.

I think too much like the guitarist I am...so when I say delay I mean echo. :D

Just a real faint warbly echo in certain parts.