Help micing combo amp.....clipping...

• Members

I'm recording a Deluxe reverb (22W combo) with a sm57 into an audiobuddy.

Cranked the DR is fairly loud...and the audiobuddy's just got that one gain knob, and even when I have it as low as it'll go without being off, I still get bad clipping bringing it into cubase. I'm new to the amp miking thing...been using modellers or just recording acoustic/vocals where volume isn't an issue.

...should I just keep moving the mic back from the speaker or do I need a new preamp? I though moving the mic away from the speaker compromized the tone in some way :confused:

Any suggestions would be much appreciated :)

P.S. ...the 57 doesn't require phantom power right? ...is there any harm in providing it power anyway?

• Members

I wonder if the outputs of the AudioBuddy are referenced to +4 dBu. If you're passing a really hot signal, and then connecting to -10 dBV equipment (regular soundcards and the like), then that might be part of the problem.

You might be able to keep your mic placement and amp level by using one of those inline attenuators, or you could try to see if there is a way to attenuate the input levels of whatever happens to be the audio interface. Failing all of that, you can indeed pull the mic a bit farther from the cabinet, which doesn't necessarily mean disaster (though it will change things, of course)

• Members

Originally posted by d0zerz

I'm recording a Deluxe reverb (22W combo) with a sm57 into an audiobuddy.

OK and then what is the Audiobuddy plugged into?

I'm guessing an AD input that is either set to the wrong sensitivity or is a mic not line level input.

We need more info on your setup.

• Members

Yeah sorry guys, I should have specified what it's going into.

It's going into the line-in of my soundcard & I'm using cubase (that shouldn't matter though right?)