Does anyone know about Typhoon brand guitars?

dragonizer

• Members

Hi, new here, I'm pretty new to electrics (and guitar playing in general) and I was just checking some out yesterday. I was originally going in to get a fender just to start out, but then I played some of em and i didn't really like the tone. Then I just tried some random brands (on the same amp, which was a fender one, I think i'll be getting that anyway) that are pretty unknown to me, and I found this Typhoon one, it sounded pretty nice to me, but I don't know if the hardware is good quality or not. In terms of sound I think I prefer it to the fenders (at least the ones I tried anyway) but I'm totally unfamiliar with the brand. I was just wondering if anyone here knows of it, and can share any thoughts with me? I think based on sound alone I'd get this, but I don't know...I can't seem to find much info on the brand online so I'm not totally sure if it's quality make.

http://www.crossroadsguitar.com/main-typhoon.html

This is all I found on it. It has a starter kit too but I tried the amp that comes with it and it sounded absolutely terrible. I'm thinking just sticking to the fender amp and gettin this guitar. ANy ideas? I just need a guit to learn on, but I don't want to end up regretting it either. THanks!

• 14 years later...
  • Members

Hey there typhoon lover!

what you have may be more valuable than you know! I’ve been around vintage equipment my whole life and recognize that these little guitars are pretty great bang for your buck.

what’s even better news is that people don’t seem to realize this yet. The Chinese were concerned with rebuilding the strat.. not cost. They could lose money and it would look good to a communist! Lol