Advice on drum micing

• Members

Hi,

i'm a tech student currently building a small recording setup. I'm at the buying my mics stage and am after some advice. I've chosen most of them already but I'm a little stuck on my drum setup.

Whenever i've recorded drums i've always used - C1000s as overheads, PG56s on the toms, a D112 for the kick and sm57s on the snare.

Rather than me just blindly sticking to what i know i thought i'd ask here first. So, anybody have any suggestions for alternatives to any of the above. I'm looking to keep it in a similar price bracket

Thanks

Will

• Members

Hi,

i'm a tech student currently building a small recording setup. I'm at the buying my mics stage and am after some advice. I've chosen most of them already but I'm a little stuck on my drum setup.

Whenever i've recorded drums i've always used - C1000s as overheads, PG56s on the toms, a D112 for the kick and sm57s on the snare.

Rather than me just blindly sticking to what i know i thought i'd ask here first. So, anybody have any suggestions for alternatives to any of the above. I'm looking to keep it in a similar price bracket

Thanks

Will

I would replace the c1000s with....pretty much anything. AT4041's, groove tubes GT33's and Oktava MC012's are popular choices along with Samson CO2's and Shure SM81's. All are nice, find the ones that suit your budget,

I would get more 57's and get rid of the Pg's as well. PG mics are useless. D112 is a very 90's sound. But very useable. People around here like the Beta52 on kick. I do. sounds good to me.

That will get you a nice sound.

Other people might suggest not micing the toms and going with a room mic. This works great too. In fact, most of the time I record drums with no tom mics. Just 2 overheads, kick, snare, and if I add anything the first thing added is a room mic. Next i add tom mics, or a LDC in omni below the snare for bottom snare/beater. But I'm weird like that.

• Members

Sounds to me like you could use some 421's.