Acoustic guitar and Male Vocals mic

• Members

Set up: 8X12 odd shaped (not square) room (stateroom on large yacht) carpet, padded overhead, teak paneling, two beds. Edirol UA-25, Laptop with either Guitar tracks or Sonar LE, acoustic guitar, baritone male voice.

I have a Shure SM-48 I picked up somewhere. I have about $200 to spend and don't mind Ebay. I'm considering Rode NT2 NT3 (hypercardioid) or whatever.

I'm just getting started and will probably record a base line on track one, the lead track on two, voice on three..... that sort of thing.

Help in the mic department would be appreciated.

OK, edit, edit etc. Maybe wrong forum I dropped down to the other one and there's reading in there for month on this stuff. Comment if you like please, but it looks like I need to think about Shure SM-7, Senn MD421, AT 2020/2021/ Cad M179, stuff like that.

Thanks in advance for the replys.

• Members

This thread might help.

Thanks Ken, I had found that one. I'm thinking the AT 4041 and let the SM-48 do for vocals for now.

For all the fancy advertising and promotion by Sweetwater, I wonder where all the Rode NT2 mics went. Trading back and forth on Ebay? Doesn't seem to be a lot of interest amongst pros like yourself.

• Members

I don't know why that is because the newly improved NT2 seemed like a winner.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

BTW, I own the original Rode NT2 from 13 years ago or whenever it came out. I use it, although less and less.

It's difficult to recommend even as a used mic even though you can get a decent sound out of it because 1.) it's extremely moisture-sensitive, to the point of where if someone mistakenly breathes on the mic, it'll be rendered useless for as long as 10 minutes, and 2.) the grill is beyond flimsy. Now bear in mind that I am talking about the original NT2 and not the later models.