How do you "master" a song?

• Members

Im a complete Noob when it comes to professional recording. Ive been recording with a Line 6 Guitarport and I plan on moving on the recording my guitar with a real amp and mic.

My setup is going to be.

Mac Book Pro

Presonus Firebox

SM57

Lets say, after the guitar is recorded on top of a backing track or drumloop, what comes next? How are you supposed to improve the sound? I plan on using Logic Pro or express after I move on from Garage Band.

Is there a Book that will show me how to do this?

• Members

if you want to do it right, your going to need some professional monitoring speakers, otherwise you wont be able to hear what you have to do to make improvements. some things to think about after you do get monitors are, e.q. on nearly every track, and light compression on nearly every track. once you get logic pro, study logic pro's presets. they will automatically give you track presets for almost any occasion and instrument. they'll even give you mastering presets, but they only go so far. you'll definetely need a book to be able to master (which im sure someone here will recommend for you) but most people will tell you not to even try, a.) because you're room isn't tuned right and b.) because for proper mastering equipment your going to need to mortgage your house. if i were you i would go to the bookstore and buy some books on home recording.

• Members

First of all, as you're new to recording I think you should take the word 'Master' out of your vocabulary, that is if you are planning doing everything the DIY route. Mastering requires a number of things including:-

-A trained ear, this comes with years of experience of recording/mixing

-A really good monitoring setup

-The ability to master in a different room