Good guitar for stoner rock.

sultan417

• Members

I just got into a new band that plays stoner rock. Stuff like COC, Mastodon and Down. Im need to get a new guitar since this stuff is in a different tuning than my other band and ill have about $1000-$1500 to spend.

Since im kinda new to this type of music i would like to get some reccomendations of stuff i should try out. Id like to stick with humbuckers since ill be using a pretty good amount of gain, but other than that im really open to suggestions.

On my list so far are:

Guild S-100

Jackson RR-5 or RR-1 with stop tailpiece

ESP Viper

• Members

You mentioned different tuning. I'm assuming down tuning?

If so, I'd reccomend something with a longer scale length ... atleast 25.5". You'll get better intonation.

You should consider P-90 pickups as well. Humbuckers can get pretty muddy under all of that downtuning and distortion that Doom-styled bands use. A P-90 will stay pretty articulate.

• Members

I thread that I can "be an expert" in!! I play stoner rock and doom these days. Same kind of stuff you mentioned with a tilt to a little more of the old school stuff like Sabbath, Place of Skulls, Spirit Caravan, and Kyuss.

Gibson SG all the way brother! In your price range, get the 61 Re-Issue, a bad ass guitar. For a few less shells, you can get a Standard. If your doing stuff like Mastodon, you need more articulation than P90s are going to give you at those gain levels. Second would be a Les Paul -- Wino (The Obsessed, Hidden Hand, Place of Skulls, Probot, and Spirit Caravan) is the doom God and plays a LP Custom.

I am using a SG Classic, but I want more of a huge and fuzzy breakup that P90s give. I also use an Epi LP Custom that is far from stock when I need a tighter tone...

• Members

Gibson SG's are used by a ton of stoner rock bands

Guild S-100 is just kick ass

LP's gan get nice and heavy

Eastwood Ultra GP is based on Josh Homme's Ovation