Kick & floor tom micing

• Members

Now that I have my 003 and can mic a few more channels, I want to do some recording with a few toms mics. Maybe not one on every tom but more than just the overheads. I have an EV ND408B which I've been using for the kick for about 10 years. I bought it for live use and so it made it's way into the home studio. So I'm questioning whether to buy another floor tom mic and keep the 408 on the kick or buy a kick drum mic and move the 408 to the floor tom. I did a few recordings with the 408 on the floor tom and wasn't thrilled by I think that was due to mic placement and tuning, or lack thereof. I'm familiar with all the major kick mics as I've been drumming for 15 years and don't know how much better they really will do. Put it this way, I bought the 408 over a 52 after comparing the two in the store (again, this was 10 years ago). I play mainly accoustic pop and some rock.

I guess my question would be two fold: from your experience, does the 408 sound better on the floor tom or the kick?

And if I go with another floor tom mic which one? ATM250? D4? (haven't found a place to test either)

Eventually I'll also get a pre amp to go along with it, probably an RNP.

• Members

I'm not familiar with any of those mics you mention. For kick, lately I've been using an Avenson ST0-2 on the outside of the kick, and am totally pleased with the sound I'm getting. It's an omni, and you can move it just about anywhere and really pick up the tone of the kick without proximity effect.

RNPs are very good mic preamps, and sound good on drums (and pretty much everything else).

I reviewed the new Artist series Audio Technica microphones a whle back, and I was really impressed by the 250. It works very well in BOTH applications - kick and floor tom, and it's reasonably priced, so I'd recommend going with one of those because no matter where you decide to use the E/V, the AT will work well on the other drum. :idea::)