Clients are fickle, (also) Don't think you know their reactions ... no matter what!!

• Members

Please forgive the length of the novel I am about to unload on you. I am sharing this experience with you all with the hope you will find meaning with it just as I have.

I have been recording and producing music for about 25 years and along with songwriting, engineering & producing, I have also been a student of business. As part of that I have spent a lot of time and effort into the psychological part of negotiating and dealing with people.

I have been recording and producing music for a major cable empire since I moved where I am now.

As part of that I have been doing the marketing music for some of their sports teams. The last 4 or 5 seasons, they wanted heavy hard driving rock.

This year, my contact ambushes me at the last minute and decides they want a full blown orchestral piece. During the initial call, I had to ascertain if there was enough time to write, record and mix the piece with enough time left over fro several revisions. I have the gear to do it, I have been studying classical music since I was a teenager.... not formally, but as an interest. The plan was, after I was to old to wear leather pants and makeup, I would be a classical composer.

So anyway, during the call I decided the time lines were close enough to commit to, even though I knew there was a risk that there would not be enough time should to many things go wrong. I was completely open with my contact about this, because it is my belief in business, that if you stand on the truth and always bring your best effort, you can be successful and together, we decided to go ahead with it.

They provided an example piece ... "We like the feel and sound of this one". So I casually listened to it for a few days to get my mind wrapped around it, then I forgot about it and set about my business.