Question for you old guys...

• Members

I was wondering how many of you started back in the day when you had to figure out by yourself how to record music.

I read the threads in all the various forums and wonder how nice it would have been in 1972 to just get on the internet and ask about the "best vocal mic", or "I'm a NOOB, what do I need to get started recording million selling CD's?"..

Where DID most of you learn your craft?

I remember spending hundreds of hours trying to get a cassette I had recorded to sound like a store bought cassette of my favorite group.. literally hundreds of hours. Nobody to ask.

Is this new era of instant information helpful or going to hurt the quality of music?

• Replies 57
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • Members

I remember trying to get my recordings to sound as loud a professional recording. I remember asking on the internet and getting the replies like: 'you need years of experience and {censored}loads of expensive equipment.'

Then I went to a professional mastering engineer and had him master a CD while asking him several innocent questions about what he was doing and discovered that the years of experience and {censored}loads of equipment was only necessary for a small difference when you knew the basic procedure.

I do remember going to several professional studios with world class equipment and paying dearly for a mediocre product. I learned that talent is 'god given' and that experience and equipment only serves the talent and that's when I thought I can do better than them.