Audio Technica AT2020: Good acoustic guitar mic?

• Members

:freak:I'm a young novice who just got his computer and gear set up and ready to go but still lacks an acoustic guitar microphone. I was told by an experienced home studio guy that the Audio Technica AT2020 is a good go for voice and acoustic guitar. Is it really? I'm also asking questions like this before I shell out my money.

:wave:please advise me.

• Members

If you search Guitar Jam for clips posted by Mystixboi1, you can hear a bunch of stuff he recorded with the AT2020. If he has any problems in his sound, I don't think it's the microphone. Or you can check him out here:
www.johnmendozamusic.com

Cheers,

Grits
:)

:thu: for the link. If he used the 2020 for acoustic on "Everything", wow.

• Members

So far I've used it on both electric guitar cabs and acoustic, and have been very satisfied with the results. With the acoustic I was told to keep it at least 12" away, or it can get boomy. Keeping that rule in mind my recordings came out very crisp, warm, and detailed. I had that pointed at the sound hole, and had an SM57 pointed at the 12th fret.

On my guitar cabs I've used it mostly at a 45 degree angle with the diaphragm pointed just past the edge of the dust cap, and it sounds clear, and ballsy.

• Members

:thu:
for the link. If he used the 2020 for acoustic on "Everything", wow.

I didn't mean to make that representation. If you send him a PM, I'm sure he'll be willing to send you a clip that he recorded with the AT2020. John is pretty nice like that.

This may clear things up: http://acapella.harmony-central.com/forums/showpost.php?p=26202398&postcount=54

:)

• Members