Sign in to follow this  
D Charles

Mid Field Monitors; Placement and mounting considerations?

Hi guys. I've got NS-10M's and Auratones in my face, but I've re-worked my great big 3-ways and they sound great really loud and away from me. In tests I've put them around 10' apart and sat about 10' back and they just really shake the room and sound profound. I'd really like to know about mounting and placement options.

First, I'm just an older hobbyist; spent most of my life singing and playing guitar in front of people for a living and always recorded demos and originals. I only record me and mine so commercial studio considerations aren't required. I'm planning on redoing my recording room and building a custom desk as soon as I can design something that will hold my gear properly and look presentable.

But at any rate, I'll have my near fields on shelves built into my desk (or on the 8' folding table I'm using now) tweets at ear level, which means, to get the big monitors aimed at my ears they'll need to be higher and angled down a bit. So some questions:

1 Are there any plans out there for soffet mounting? I've seen some pics and rooms for that matter, but never the actual materials used (under the attractive outer treatment).

2 Is there a rule for distance apart and distance to the mix position? Should it be a perfect triangle like near fields?

3 I can't imagine just locating the speakers by math or something, what's a good way to be able to move the speakers up and down, right and left and adjust their downward pitch toward the mix position and somehow account for the actual framing you're gonna have to do to mount them to the wall? I've considered my ultimate speaker stands and maybe making double plywood bases on hinges with a front lip so I could move the stands around and put stuff under the back (hinge in front) to change the downward throw).

Any ideas would be greatly appreciated! :)

Be aware of boundary cancellation.