Is the Fiberglass (in the Sound Absorbtive Panels) Dangerous to Your Health ?

• Members

Haha. Rest easy, fiberglass is relatively safe. Direct contact with fiberglass and it's dust can cause minor throat, nose, eye, and skin irritation in the form of itchiness. The burlap works extremely well as a barrier to keep the fibers in place, while allowing sound waves to enter the acoustic material. There are cancer warnings on the labels of fiberglass, however if you read them you'll find that you'd have to be fully exposed, living in, rolling around in, eating, and drinking fiberglass to have any possible negative health risks...aside from itching.

• Members

With all due respect to ProgRock11 - fiberglass fibers may very well be considered the new asbestos down the road. My day job is in construction at a large hospital complex, and I can't think of a more 'over-regulated' industry than healthcare. We have to go through about 20-30 hours of safety training every year. A couple hours of that is dedicated to asbestos abatement. The instructor is pretty over-zealous in his views on asbestos safety - but then again he knows a lot more about it than any of us. Microscopic views of fiberglass fibers is not too much different than that of asbestos - they both have hooked/jagged edges which cause them to stick to the inner lining of the lungs, digestive track, etc.

Asbestos fibers themselves are not carcinogenic. They simply lodge themselves into your lung tissue. Your body attacks them as a foreign body and as a result builds scar tissue around the fiber/lung tissue. Since fiberglass fibers can also lodge in the lung tissue it's entirely possible that they can also cause similar problems and make it difficult to tell the difference during a biopsy.