Mixing woes

• Members

I've been doing this sort of thing for about 6 years now, and making improvements as I go along. I've recorded and mixed a lot of records and EPs in that time, and looking back I can say I have improved since then.

What puzzles me however :facepalm: is that even if I am tedious in setting up equipment and getting the right sounds up front, and I keep my mics in position, keep the amps at the same settings, keep the bass knobs turned perfectly and marked in position, not moving the drums or anything, I still have to make adjustments to each song.

The song could have the same amp setting with the same bass settings, and everything - and you'd think it would be easy to just copy the settings you got right on one mix, and put them to another mix...but it never works that way for me. So as a result I continue to mix each song by itself, getting it to sound good, and then in the mastering stage forever-tweaking my way so they all sound similar.

This process can take months upon months and tons of CD-Rs burned and listened to in my vehicle, my girlfriend's vehicle, my mom's vehicle, my neighbor's vehicle, my friends' boomboxes...yada yada.

Is this just a conundrum or am I actually fudging something up without realizing it?

• Members

I think that's just the way it works. Every song is different so every song needs different treatment. If you want them to sound "more similar" before the mastering maybe reference a really good finished mix you've already completed while mixing the others so they'll be closer, if they aren't close at all.

• Members

Drum heads stretch over time and lose pitch. By the 8th song bass strings tend to dull. Same with guitar strings. Each song is subjective and needs individual treatment to gel. The drummer may be consistent and confident on one track but might lack confidence on another.

There are infinite variables that can not be directly controlled and the remedy is mixing. There's no way around it.

Cheers :)