Okay, I give up. Is REAPER basically my ACID Pro 8.0 release?

• Members

I'm a long time ACID Pro user (about 10 years now!) and I have a copy of SONAR on my machine (have had various upgrades since Cakewalk Pro Audio 6.0!!) And I've been waiting for an ACID Pro 8.0 for about three years now...is REAPER really my answer? I've played with the demo and it seems to be a great DAW and easy to get around in...?

• Members

Why not? You can try it out all you want and make up your own mind, sequencer choice is purely subjective as they all do the same basic functions.

(by the way, you DO know that the guys behind Reaper originally wrote ACID, didn't you??)

• Members

Why not? You can try it out all you want and make up your own mind, sequencer choice is purely subjective as they all do the same basic functions.

(by the way, you DO know that the guys behind Reaper originally wrote ACID, didn't you??)

I did. I guess I'm just looking for a comparison that isn't steeped in fanboy histrionics...:facepalm:

• Members

Got you.

I only used a really only version of Acid that came with my first 8 channel interface.

I decided it wasnt what I needed and never bothered with it again.

I tried reaper out too but I was already used to Sonar and Cubase and didnt see the sence in

learning another DAW program that does the same things as my current DAWs do.

I really cant tell you the menu simularities and differences so I wont be much help to you there.

I think Ableton is simular to Reaper in several ways too so you may want to look at that one too.

I like Sonar because it was easiest to learn coming from an analog background.

I think the old windows version of Logic was the hardest to get my head wrapped around.

• Members

I've never heard that, either. IIRC, the guy who wrote Winamp founded Cockos.

Acid was created by a company in Wisconsin called Sonic Foundry that created a bunch of great Windows audio software.

• Members