Ibanez RG550 vs. RG570?

LookingForDD20

• Members

I'm not an Ibanez expert, or even close, but I THINK the LoTRS was only used on the cheapo Korean ones. The Prestige models use the Edge Pro, which is a fantastic unit, but the older 5XX series used the original Edge. Don't carve any of that in stone (cept the part about the Edge Pro being fantastic.. I had a 1570 and it WAS a fantastic trem on a great guitar, but the neck cramped my hand too much to keep it)..

• Members

Originally posted by RaVenCAD

I'm not an Ibanez expert, or even close, but I THINK the LoTRS was only used on the cheapo Korean ones. The Prestige models use the Edge Pro, which is a fantastic unit, but the older 5XX series used the original Edge. Don't carve any of that in stone (cept the part about the Edge Pro being fantastic.. I had a 1570 and it WAS a fantastic trem on a great guitar, but the neck cramped my hand too much to keep it)..

I appreciate the help. The LoTRS was used on the cheapies, but the LoPro appeared on some RGs. I found a site with detailed pics, but I'm still looking for more info on the LoPro vs. Edge.

http://www.jemsite.com/jem/trems.htm

EDIT: Apparently the LoPros had locking studs. Anyone tried them?

http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/showthread.php?t=463665

• Members

actually, in 1992 (i think) the rg550 and 570 came with the edge lopro. Both the original edge and edge lopro are of the same quality

QUOTE]Originally posted by LookingForDD20

I appreciate the help. The LoTRS was used on the cheapies, but the LoPro appeared on some RGs. I found a site with detailed pics, but I'm still looking for more info on the LoPro vs. Edge.

http://www.jemsite.com/jem/trems.htm

EDIT: Apparently the LoPros had locking studs. Anyone tried them?

http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/forum/showthread.php?t=463665

• Members

Originally posted by LookingForDD20

Ah, yes. Forgot about the fretboard.

So, the trems are identical? What's the deal with the LoPro then?