Arrgh! Neck doesn't fit body...

blueshawk1

• Members

Nuts! I bought a new body and a new neck to make my own guitar and the neck doesn't fit the routing for in the body for the neck.

Now the question is, should I shave away the body or shave away the neck?

I'm thinking neck, but what do I know, I've never done this before. Is this common when trying to make a guitar?

The neck would need to be flattened on the bottom, and shaved on the sides to fit, if, it is the neck I should be trimming.

Any advice? Thanks in advance.

• Moderators

Nuts! I bought a new body and a new neck to make my own guitar and the neck doesn't fit the routing for in the body for the neck.

Now the question is, should I shave away the body or shave away the neck?

I'm thinking neck, but what do I know, I've never done this before. Is this common when trying to make a guitar?

The neck would need to be flattened on the bottom, and shaved on the sides to fit, if, it is the neck I should be trimming.

Any advice? Thanks in advance.

Hmmmm, it all depends. Whats is the best quality and most expensive? What guitar is it?

But ultimately you'll need to open the neck pocket as the heel of the neck is the width of the end of the fretboard, so you'd have to taper the neck up, so the neck pocket should be the right answer:thu:

• Members

Is it a "no way in hell it will fit" or is just slightly larger?

If it's the latter try sanding the sides of the neck by hand.

A little of each side until it fits.

I had a Strat Plus neck that didn't seem to fit in either spare body that I had (one old, one new Warmoth). I finally got pissed and forced it. It's snug but it works.

the moral of the story was I was going to sand it.

• Members

I bet the pickguard looks good though!
;)