John Mayer Strat - how thick is the neck?

One-armed Alec

• Members

I've scoured the web, but can't find this info anywhere...

If you happen to own one, can you tell me the neck depth at the 1st and 12th frets (from the back of the neck to the fingerboard)?

If you just happen to have played one, can you comment on how it compares with an Eric Johnson Strat neck?

Many thanks,

Alec.

• Members

I played one Friday night at GC. Keep in mind I'm a novice player, but I REALLY wanted to like it, but all I could keep thinking of was how I liked my American Standard Strat better.

The only difference I could tell in the neck from my standard is the Frets were not as good as mine. Not really sharp I guess, but definately rougher than mine. And for that much money and just getting that goofy "gig" bag, I passed.

You may have a different take or I could have just played a bad one. They didn't have the EJ or EC strat for me to try, but the only one I liked was their Mahogany HSS strat. It was different enough for me to justify another strat, but I passed on it too.

• Members

I played one Friday night at GC. Keep in mind I'm a novice player, but I REALLY wanted to like it, but all I could keep thinking of was how I liked my American Standard Strat better.

The only difference I could tell in the neck from my standard is the Frets were not as good as mine. Not really sharp I guess, but definately rougher than mine. And for that much money and just getting that goofy "gig" bag, I passed.

You may have a different take or I could have just played a bad one. They didn't have the EJ or EC strat for me to try, but the only one I liked was their Mahogany HSS strat. It was different enough for me to justify another strat, but I passed on it too.

Hey - thanks for your reply.

How did the neck depth feel to you, was it significantly deeper than your American Standard's neck?