New tuners for a Peavey Predator

killerbeez

• Members

After giving my USA Predator a good going over, I think I need to replace the sketchy tuners on it. Anyone have a suggestion of ones that will fit with minimal modification? I wouldn't touch them at all, but the high e string will hold tune for about 3 strums as it currently is. Guitar Fetish looks to have some good alternatives, but I'm a novice on this type of repair.

• Members

Standard Answer #307: check the nut. The problem may have nothing to do with the stock tuners.

Having said that, I've installed GFS tuners on several guitars, and they work just fine. I'd say they do just as well as the Schallers, Grovers, and Gotoh's I've used.

• Members

Standard Answer #307: check the nut. The problem may have nothing to do with the stock tuners.

Having said that, I've installed GFS tuners on several guitars, and they work just fine. I'd say they do just as well as the Schallers, Grovers, and Gotoh's I've used.

Already did check the nut...has had a recent replacement. I have one tuner that moves if you breathe on it.....they have to go. Thanks for the input though. you can never discount the obvious.

• Members

With any guitar that has a fender-type tremolo, I'm a huge fan of locking tuners.

Peavey obviously agreed with me at one point, because when they replaced the USA Predator with the Korean Predator Pro, they added locking tuners.

• Members

Why will he HAVE to? They'll be either 8 or 10mm holes. If they're 8s then he gets tuners to fit, no reaming required

Link me to some 8mm tuners that are not the old stamped cover non-sealed kind please...I'd love to find some.

• Members

With any guitar that has a fender-type tremolo, I'm a huge fan of locking tuners.

Peavey obviously agreed with me at one point, because when they replaced the USA Predator with the Korean Predator Pro, they added locking tuners.

Is that right? the Koreans have the locking tuners?

• Members