Tube amp pops when shut off..... (warning long topic)

BASSDAD

• Members

....I know it's not the Amp forum but they'd just kill me..:mad:

I'm new to tube amps. I bought his and changed the tubes. That's about it. It sounds good when playing but there's issues.

So anyway it pops when i shut it off. I left it on for a few hours to listen for other issues. Ocassionsal cracle every 1/2 hour or so. Fair amount of back ground whoosh when nothing is plugged in or when guitar volume is off. It goes away when you play dirty or clean. It popped louder than ever when I shut it down after a few hours on. I also had the pre and post dimed but no signal.

I think V-1 mis microfonic. It feedsbak bad with the pre dimed and boost on.

The post is at 1.5 and I get feedback. V-1 also rings like a bell if I tap it with an incense stick. All the other other tubes have a faint thud when tapped. Probably the reverb picking stuff up. V-1 definately rings.

Oh yeah it's a Peavey Delta Blues. They do not come with a standby.

The tubes are JJ's normal clean/high gain lead channel set and have less than 10 hours on them.

So The pop and the whoosh. 2 problems or one?

Suggestions. (I'm sure I 've done at least 1 thing wrong:eek:)

• Members

Turn the volume and gain all the way down before flipping the switch.

That's it?

Is some background noise normal if it goes away when you play?

Are you sure I don't need a Fender? :lol:

Hell I'll take a Fender too but I'll nver give this thing up. They sound great.

Better than a Deville not as good as a Twin. IMHOOC

• Members

I had the same thing with my vox and the standby switch. Took it into the shop, was given a clean, new standby switch. The tech also said that on ac30's the standby switch isnt really that useful cos of the type of rectifier. So when powering off, just turn off the amp, and not the standby. Then flick off the standby later.

I think its also similar with little amps like blues jr's that dont even have a standby switch.