Considering modding my Peavey Raptor

Shenaniganizer

• Members

As far as I know, it's a plywood body, but as iffy as I am on it.. I just might mod the hell out of this thing. :cop:

Main reasons: My first guitar, and I like the neck.

Plus I really want to mod a strat-type anyway, and since I'm new at modding (aside from soldering some pickups) I figured it'd be a good platform to work with.

And I know I've posted a thread somewhat similar to this, but this thread is dedicated to the Raptor alone.

Now.. I have a few questions to ask (of course :facepalm:) but first, I'd like to note what I want to mod.

New bridge (either a locking trem [with the nut of course], or a fixed string-thru piece)

If I go with the fixed bridge option, new nut

New tuners

Upgraded electronics (new 5-way switch, pots, jack, maybe some sort of wiring modification to where the volume is master for all pups, one tone is the master tone for the neck and middle single coils, and the other tone is for the bridge humbucker)

New pickups

New pickguard

New paintjob

Neck refret

First, I'm going to swap out the pickups before I do anything else, to test the tonal possibilities, I guess you could say, although I'm really not too worried about the guitar's body wood.

On to my questions..

What parts would you guys recommend? For the locking trem, or even the fixed bridge piece and nut? Tuners?

I was thinking a Gotoh trem and nut, with Gotoh Schaller-style tuners. Any input? (even better, would anyone know if this is a double-locking trem? http://www.guitarpartsdepot.com/Gotoh_Locking_Tremolos-Gotoh_GE1996T_CK_Gotoh_Floyd_Rose_Tremolo_CB.html )

As for the electronics, what kind of pots/switch/jack would you all recommend? I was thinking some Alphas. Also, would anyone know how to do that mod I noted, for the pots?