Announcement
Collapse
No announcement yet.

Stand alone MIDI Multitrack - Is there such a thing?

Collapse
X
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Stand alone MIDI Multitrack - Is there such a thing?

I am looking for a simple non computer based multitrack midi recording device. I would like to lay down tracks of midi backing tracks that I could then take to a studio to finish by using their extensive sounds and then adding audio (vocals etc). I am not good with computer recording. Are all the digital multitrack recorders just record wav files? For example the Zoom R8 has drums and other sounds built in. That would be perfect if I could save them as midi. Any suggestions?

What you are looking for is a hardware MIDI sequencer... they come in various formats, including models that are built into keyboard workstations. A discontinued model that may appeal to you is the Alesis MMT-8. They go for relatively low prices on Reverb and EBay. Yamaha and Roland have both made various hardware sequencers over the years too.

"Look at it this way: think of how stupid the average person is, and then realize half of 'em are stupider than that."
    - George Carlin

"It shouldn't be expected that people are necessarily doing what they appear to be doing on records."
    - Sir George Martin, All You Need Is Ears

"The music business will be revitalized by musicians, not the labels or Live Nation. When the musicians decide to put music first, instead of money, the public will flock to the fruits and the scene will be healthy again."
    - Bob Lefsetz, The Lefsetz Letter

Comment

Thank you - I see a few of them for sale. I looked at a manual online but I can't seem to see what type of media is used to save this to. Not sure how old a unit like this is. Can I save my files to a usb? CD? Floppy drive?

Comment