No announcement yet.

midi soundcard issues

Collapse
X
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• midi soundcard issues

Hello all, I hope you are having a great day and thank you for taking some time to read this.

I am very new to midi and have a carbon midi controller and am using sonar platinum.

Currently I have a lexicon external sound card which I use to record guitars through.

The controller has a USB for midi which I have going to the desktop unit.

However, I cannot get it to use the Lexicon sound card and the only way I get sound is the microsoft GS wavetable synth
    Now my lexicon does have a midi in and out but it is older and is 5 pin so I cannot run it directly to the it.

I have the lexicon as my default sound card on the computer but cannot locate or turn off themicrosoft GS wavetable synth.

Is there a way I can get my carbon to run through the lexicon directly or a work around?

Thank you

turn it to eleven

Groovy13

It's not called a "sound card" if the unit is external to the computer, it is then called an "audio interface."

I assume you have a Lexicon Omega, Alpha or Lambda audio interface. Sorry, but the MIDI function of these devices of these devices doesn't work properly with newer computer operating systems. These interfaces have been around for a long time, since Windows 95.

My advice is to use a separate MIDI interface, a USB to MIDI adapter cable is about $40 U.S. You can disable the Lexicon's MIDI interface in Sonar's settings.
    This space left intentionally blank.

Comment

Thank you Mr. G. If I disable the lexicon in the midi..my concern is that I would not be able to record audio through it for the same song. I am new to this so thank you for the info and patience -would something like this work? my controller does have a midi out

Attached Files

Comment