No announcement yet.

recording interface connections

Collapse
X
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• recording interface connections

i'm new to recording interfaces. i understand its like an 8 track interface that you connect to your computer and into a DAW. how is the connections basically? is it instruments plug into each channel and then a printer cable connects the interface to the computer? is it really that simple, what are the 'direct analog' outputs for? doesn't the printer cable take care of connecting the interface to the DAW already?

Originally posted by mbengs1 View Post
    i'm new to recording interfaces. i understand its like an 8 track interface that you connect to your computer and into a DAW. how is the connections basically? is it instruments plug into each channel and then a printer cable connects the interface to the computer? is it really that simple, what are the 'direct analog' outputs for? doesn't the printer cable take care of connecting the interface to the DAW already?
    "Printer cable" interfaces are pretty obsolescent at this point. Most computer audio interfaces use other means of connecting to the host computer - today you're much more likely to find an interface that uses USB 2.0, Firewire or even Thunderbolt for that purpose rather than an old fashioned RS-232 cable.

As far as the connections on the interface, they allow you to connect things to your computer, and for the computer to interface with the outside world.

Typically you'll have a combination of some of the following - sometimes all of the following - it just depends on the features of the particular unit:
    • XLR microphone inputs
    • 1/4" line inputs - sometimes in combination with the XLR inputs (combo XLR-1/4" inputs)
    • High impedance (High-Z) input on 1/4" jack for recording guitar / bass "direct"
    • S/PDIF Digital I/O on RCA style coax jacks
    • ADAT lightpipe multi-channel digital audio I/O
    • L/R main (or monitor) outputs