Quality Sound From GoPro?

Collapse
X
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Quality Sound From GoPro?

Hi everyone,

I'm not sure if this is the best forum for this question but since many of you have a diverse skill set that often encompasses video, I thought I'd try my chances here....

In summary - I'm looking to record some practice sessions with two or three GoPro cameras, so that I can review my performances (solo acoustic guitar and my voice).

Does anyone have any experience in doing this and if so, would you be willing to share your thoughts/experiences?

I'm new to video and from what I can gather, while the video from the GoPro's is HD, the sound is not so great. With that in mind, I have a selection of nice mics that are available to me, and I'd prefer to use those mics over a basic, clip-on lavalier or ball mic.... yet still keep the setup fairly mobile, as I'll be doing all this in a rehearsal space and not a controlled environment like a studio.

That leads me to:

1) Can anyone recommend an alternative mic setup?
    2) Can I run a large diaphragm condenser into a GoPro without running phantom power?
    3) I have seen XLR to USB connectors available, but would such a connector work for my application or is there a better alternative?
    4) When it comes to pulling it all together in an editing suite, how can I sync the videos together? Is SMPTE time code still being used these days or is there another industry standard that is preferred?

Any input is appreciated!

Thanks.

www.stephensanderson.com

Originally posted by Quarterwave View Post

1) Can anyone recommend an alternative mic setup?
    There are many Go Pro Cameras. I need to know the exact model you're dealing with/

2) Can I run a large diaphragm condenser into a GoPro without running phantom power?
    No

3) I have seen XLR to USB connectors available, but would such a connector work for my application or is there a better alternative?
    No it wont work.