No announcement yet.

Lots of background noise when using guitar vs mic on audio interface

Collapse
X
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Lots of background noise when using guitar vs mic on audio interface

I just bought my first ever audio interface yesterday and spent hours setting it up and adjusting settings. The model is the Presonus Audio Box. I got it on sale for $80 and it has all of the features I was looking for.

I'm a drummer who plays guitar for fun and really don't need something high end. I'm not picky about recordings that aren't flawless. Everything seems good with this unit except one thing: When I plug my acoustic/electric guitar into the interface it makes a loud background noise. When I record this with Audacity it shows up even if I lower the levels. It's so bad it seems useless for recording anything. Now, my mic has a little noise but not nearly as bad and that's what I was expecting with the budget models.

The only thing I can think of is my cable but it was working fine last time I used it on an amp. For the features I am looking for it seems the next model would be a Focusrite which is $170. I want the midi inputs. I may sacrifice using midi inputs if the Focusrite Scarlett for $100 will significantly improve this issue.

I am ready to return this unit if the issue is not with my cable but can anyone tell me if this is normal for it to be that bad with lower end models? When doing searches online, it seems people have problems with some of the mid level models as well.

I don't want to return it and have the same issue with a more expensive unit. Like I said, I would be completely satisfied if the background noise was the same as I get from when using the mic which is tolerable.

Thanks!

Does your acoustic/electric guitar have a battery in it?