No announcement yet.

brittle vocals

Collapse
X
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• brittle vocals

You all have been giving me some great insights. Quick review: I've been fooling with a Tascam recorder in my basement for several years and have put over a hundred songs on it so far.

I learn more every time I sit down to mix and have figured out how to solve a lot of problems. A few of you have given me advice on mic preamps, which I'm taking to heart. (read: I'll get one when I have the scratch.)

There's one problem in particular, though, that has me stymied. All the tracks I record, but most especially vocal and electric guitar tracks, sound brittle. Even when I dial the trebles and mids down radically, everything has harsh edges. All the hard consonant sounds - T especially, and also S, K, and CH - jump out very unmusically.

It would be great to smooth or soften the sound.It it just the nature of the Tascam? Is there a remedy? What works?

If a preamp will help with that, tell more more. How can it help? What should I be looking for? What should I avoid?

Getting there. Thanks!
    Del
    www.thefullertons.net
    ( •)—:::
    Sent on my six-string jumbo ukelele

Compression? De-essing? Sorry, I'm not really an expert on recording but I do know that vocals almost always need compression, dynamic range compression, that is. De-essing is a special compressor that acts only on the treble "sibilant" sounds. These technologies were essential for making recording that could be played back on vinyl records, but it helps tame vocals in a way that we're used to hearing them. Which is why un-processed vocals sound "harsh" as you say.

Clean guitars can use compression too. Distorted guitars typically don't need compression because distortion & overdrive compress the signal naturally on their own.
    This space left intentionally blank.

Comment

• Delmont
      Delmont commented
      Editing a comment