No announcement yet.

New Mixer has no Insert Points

Collapse
X
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New Mixer has no Insert Points

I've always used Yamaha MG series mixers. I just bought a Yamaha MG12XU. But I just noticed it had no insert jacks like my earlier MG mixers had.

Now I have several pretty good outboard hardware processors but I don't know how to use them with this mixer. For example JoeMeek and FMR compressors. They work great with insert points. But they are always short of juice as Aux's.

Do I need a different mixer? Or is there a way I can still use my boxes with this mixer?

Thanks. I'm a real amateur on questions like this.

Last edited by Etienne Rambert; 02-06-2017, 10:32 PM.
    He has escaped! Youtube , ​Murika , France

You could use the monitor send, Buss group or aux sends then return them back to the board through a channel. The device wouldn't be in series with the channel, it would be running in parallel to that channel.

Other then putting the effects before the channel, this mixer simply doesn't accommodate what you want to do. This is why its important you need to read the manual on gear you purchase. It saves you from having surprises like this.

Comment

Yeah. Thanks. I 've owned 3 MG series mixers. They all had insert points. I wrongly assumed this one would have them too.

Comment

They likely did it to produce a less expensive model.
        Inserts are for hardware and most people into digital recording don't need hardware inserts because they are doing everything digitally. In fact most don't even use a mixer because its a redundant piece of gear. Interfaces have high quality preamps and there's no reason to color the sound prior to it being recorded when you can simply do that later mixing. of course if you record analog then a mixer or two way console is still essential.