Advice on setting up my mixer + speakers

Collapse
X
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Advice on setting up my mixer + speakers

Hi there!

I would appreciate advice on how to set up my rig. I am new to the sound business. I have a room that I plan to use to rehearse with my band (electric drums, bass, guitar, 1 mic). Over time I have bought several pieces of gear, and I'm trying to optimize the set up

Gear:
    - Sound
    - Yamaha EMX 5000-12 Powered Mixer
    - Yamaha MG124C Mixer (unpowered)
    - 2 Wharfedale Pro Titan 8 passive PA speakers
    - 2 speakers from an AIWA 990 hi-fi system
    - 1 Peavey KB 60 Keyboard amp

Bass
    - Squier Jazz Bass California Series
    - Behringer Bass V-Amp effects unit

Guitar
    - Epiphone Les Paul (I think it's an LP200)
    - Classical Guitar (with mic)
    - Line 6 M13 Stomp Modeler

3 Microphones

Currently I'm using the EMX 5000 with the 2 Aiwa 990 Speakers (I use them at a very low volume, and set the mixer limiter to 100W). I tested the Wharfedale Titan 8 speaker (powered by the EMX 5000) and found that it delivers a kind of better sound (difficult to explain in words, kind of 'more clear' or 'more focused'. I also tried the Peavey KB 60 (self-powered, fed it with ST OUT signal from the EMX 5000) and found it sound way much better, and also louder.

Is the Peavey KB 60 Keyboard amp better than the passive speakers? Or it sounds better because for the same signal, it sounds louder? The fact is has a 12" speaker has any influence? How would it compare vs passive PA speakers of similar features (12" drivers)? Is a keyboard amp better than a PA speaker?

Thanks for your advice,
    Guillermo

Seeing you posted this in the recording forum I'm guessing you want to use this gear to record?

What you have may be passible for live music but I don't see anything on that list there for recording. That's fine if you're just asking about how to set the gear up in a room to rehearse if that's all you need.