No announcement yet.

Keyboard feedback problem

Collapse
X
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Keyboard feedback problem

Hello everyone, I'm quite new to using forums but I'm having a problem that I can't seem to shake. I have a Roland Fantom X8 that I purchased on craigslist. The L and R outputs don't seem to work too well so I've been using the phones jack. This has worked for awhile now until I started getting a lot of static in my mix. I tried connecting my keyboard to many different amps but it doesn't seem to cure it. The strange thing is my headphones work without any of it. If anyone needs anymore info I'm happy to help, I appreciate your time.

Welcome to HC.

A Headphone jack should NEVER be used to feed a line level device or to drive an amp.
    Some keyboards have headphone jacks which double as a line level send. You're is not one of those.

Headphone amplifiers Produce a much higher voltage output and therefore higher power (volume) levels.
    Small ear bud devices that can double as line level jacks may only output 1.8, 2.5 or 3.3 Volts peak to peak. Laptops and Cell phones often have these kind of headphone jacks which are safe to run either way.

When you have both like level and headphone jacks like you have in your case you should never used the headphone output to drive other devices.

Regular headphone amps (like the one in your keyboard) run off of 9, 12, 18 or 24 Vpp volt supplies, allowing 5-20 decibel higher volume from the headphone jack. That's enough to cook the input preamp of the device you're feeding. It can also fry the keyboards output.