No announcement yet.

Pitch perception and key resolution.

Collapse
X
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pitch perception and key resolution.

I declare upfront that I have almost no knowledge of music theory. I may not express myself well, or use the most appropriate terms, but I will do my best.

The problem is that a melody can sound strange or "off key" to me, for a short while, then I seem to "tune in" and it sounds fine.

On the odd occasions that this happens, it is usually just the beginning of the music that sounds off. But if I replay the entire thing, the beginning then sounds fine. That suggests that it is a perception thing. How normal is this?

It can also happen if I switch back after listening to another piece of music. But within a minute, it all sounds OK again.

It occurs to me that my ears may just be adjusting to the "key" - although, not being a musician, I couldn't actually tell you one key from the next.

If this is normal, do those of you who arrange music have to lead gently into situation where there is a change of key, so as to cue the listener?

I don't know how much sense all this makes, but I am just trying to understand what is going on with my ears!

I've been a musician for 50 years and still have it happen occasionally. The music level needs to be low enough where I cant hear it completely, maybe a radio in the distance, I'll hear some chording or past that's louder then the others and think the song is in one key, but another part like a Vocal comes in and then I'll recognize what key its actually in.

There are even some songs out there that spoof you like that intentionally but normally its just an accompaniment part to some musical composition that's playing a harmony or inversion to the root cord that throws you off.