No announcement yet.

NI Kontakt 5 Glide?

Collapse
X
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• NI Kontakt 5 Glide?

I just bought Vintage Organs library for Kontakt 5 and I'm trying to figure out how to add some portamento (sliding from one note to another in a smooth way). I see there's a glide module in Kontakt but I have no idea how to use it. I'm very new to Kontakt, so I have no idea how to use any modules. I tried the user manual, about a thousand Google searches, and called Native Instruments, to no avail. How do I add portamento to my Vintage Organs? Thanks in advance!

P.S. I tried making a username for the NI forums but they seem to be down right now. If there's a more appropriate forum somewhere for this thread, please direct me.

I'm not up on my virtual instruments. I play some keyboard and do a little midi. I messed with the old native stuff like the B3 organ. If I were to guess what the problem is from your post, I'd think the problem to be something with the way the virtual instrument assigns itself to a midi keyboard. For example one of my keyboards has a pitch bender that can be assigned to specific midi tasks. The others have assignable midi functions that will tell the virtual instrument what and how to do things. I would think its something the hardware has to be capable of doing in order for the software to do it. If its a super basic keyboard, then that feature may not be assignable to the keyboard.

I do suggest you post this in the keyboard forum though. You want to get advice from a keyboard player who knows all about assigning virtual instruments to a keyboard. Most of what I've learned comes from reading manuals and then just poking around in the dark figuring out how things work.