Announcement
Collapse
No announcement yet.

Which is better- digital workstation or computer?

Collapse
X
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Which is better- digital workstation or computer?

Hi,

I have been playing guitar for about 2 years now and also play in a rock band. The band and I are looking to record some of our music. I am new to recording and don't know that much. I was wondering if a digital workstation or computer is better for recording. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

A computer is WAY MORE flexible on ALL LEVELS for recording. It's practically unlimited in scope.

That said, I prefer, and use hardware gear with less features because it forces me to focus on making MUSIC over tweaking and editing.

and you can use both also

Comment

Depends on how good you are with computers. A digital workstation should be easier to set up and more reliable. Computers are more flexible and powerful.

Comment

What do you mean by digital workstation? A portable hard disk recorder?

Comment

do yourself a favor and get a decent stand alone multitrack...you'll spend forever trying to get on with your computer software...unlimited flexibility is exactly what people with limited experience DONT need.

you'll learn more about recording fundamentals with the limits that a stand alone multitrack provide and I'll bet you'll focus more on the songs and less on all the parameters of the software

in the end a good stand alone multitrack with good songs will be great

Comment

I have both. A digital multi track (portable so I dont have to take my whole PC etc etc to rehersal).

Tonight I am recording drums on the multi track, then transferring the individual tracks to my PC so I can have more flexibility.
            Check out my band "Tock" Debut album coming out soon: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dQoQgpMooyY

Comment