Collapse
No announcement yet.

Cubase AI5 Can I Record MIDI as AUdio?

Collapse
X
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cubase AI5 Can I Record MIDI as AUdio?

I downloaded a program called thedrumsource 1.0, a VST instrument for Cbase...It works like a samplr-drum-machine...you have the virtual module/hardware and then you use WAVfiles in it to generate drum hits...will I be able to do anything like record drum beats for projects in cubase? I have created a bass-kick pattern in drumsource, synced it to the transport in Cubase, but when I hit record it doesn't seem to be recording...the levels are going up and down but only next to the VST folder, not the MIDI track. whats up.
    Motif XS 8-into an Mbox-out of my PC and into the sky.

I'm not an expert on midi or sampled files but reading the product it says you can create a
    pattern in that program then you can export it to a wave file. It doesnt say anything about
    running it in a DAW program. it may be like fruty loops free sequencer where you generate a loop, save
    it as a wave file loop, then import those loops into your DAW program.

The program may be a midi sequencer, but it that playes back wave samples.
    If thats the case you wont hear it play back in a midi track because the tracks arent midi,
    they're wave audio samples.

This is different from an actual midi sequencer that uses midi voices stored in banks to generate the tones.
    In those cases, you select the proper bank for the proper sound and if the midis set up right you'll hear that voice play back.

Whats written to tracks is midi data, not audio data. The track contains no audio data with a true midi sequencer.
    The midi track playes back an that data uses the midi voice bank to generate its tone. You can change these tones
    by selecting any voice in the banks.

If this sequencer is designed to be run in a midi track, then you have a problem with the data triggering the proper voices.