Acoustic guitar for a beginner

harrykane140693

• Members

I am currently living in Serbia, and I started playing my roommates guitar but I left the dorm and now I want to get one of my own. I don't really have a huge budget, mostly because all of the regular priced guitars are inflated when brought into the country so I am probably stuck getting an off brand guitar. I mostly want to play using the fingerstyle technique but I am not really sure what I should be looking for in a first guitar, I know that there is plenty of information online the thing is that there is an overflow of information and I just need the some rules of thumb. Thanks in advance.

• Members

Rules of thumb:

1. Comfort. Play it. Does it feel good? Neck too wide, too narrow? Dreadnought too big, need a smaller model?

2. Tone. Does it sound good? Could you listen to it for hours? Forget what anybody else says, it has to sound good to *you*

3. Build quality. Start with a reputable manufacturer and build quality pretty much takes care of itself. (we'll name names in a minute)

4. Wood. Most entry-level guitars are going to be laminate back and sides, and may have a solid or laminate top. Nothing at all wrong with laminate material - it's tough stuff. As for the top, tone woods vary. A spruce top will produce a brighter tone than cedar. Mahogany sounds deep and woody. Goes back to #2 - tone. Play several if you can, choose which one you love.

5. Price. Yes, it's a consideration for a first guitar. Do you think you'll keep it for a long time or will you want to upgrade soon? Or will you get sick of it and toss it in the nearest rubbish heap?

6. Unless you're in the market for a "high end" guitar such as Martin or Guild, look at these brands: Yamaha, Seagull, Crafter (more widely available in the UK and on the continent than in the US), Epiphone, Takamine.

So go shop and take home the guitar that sings to your heart. That is the one you will keep.

• Members